Not All Things Are Created Equal #FinishRevolution #Giveaway

May 17, 2012

Reviews & Giveaways

Recently, the folks over at Quantum Finish invited a few of us to attend a webinar about using your dishwasher.

Right…, I thought.

I need that like I need another hole in the head. I mean, I’ve been loading a dishwasher for years, right?  Are we reinventing the wheel here or something?  What more can there be to learn about putting dishes into a machine, throwing in the soap, and turning it on?

Turns out, for not the first time that day, I was wrong and I learned something new.

Here, in the briefest of terms, are just a few of the things I’ve gleaned from my friends at Quantum Finish.

1.  80% of all technician repair calls to ‘fix’ a dishwasher are, get this, not really about the dishwasher.

2.  Pre-rinsing is very much unnecessary with today’s machines.  There are a myriad of reasons not to use good drinking water to rinse food gunk.

3.  Dishwashers typically need 120 C water to operate.  A combination of distance from the tank to the machine, government mandated anti-scald valves, or even just setting the tank temperature lower to save money, will all contribute to poor dishwasher performance.

4.  Under the kitchen sink is the second moistest place in the house, and the worst place to keep powdered detergent.  Powdered detergents are designed to start working once they get wet.  Putting it all together – chunking the clumps of dishwasher powder into your machine is pretty much a waste of time.

5.  There are two types of cleaning agents:  enzymes and bleach.  Enzymes like the lower temperatures, typically found at the beginning of the wash cycle, to break down protein (eggs, cheese).  Bleach works best with the higher temperatures at the end of the wash cycle, to finish taking off stains and such.  However, bleach will kill enzymes if they come in contact with each other. Quantum Finish has both types of cleaning agents, separated by a nifty little wall, so they activate at the right time.  Another random fact?  The wall is made of the same stuff that surround fish oil and Vitamin E capsules.

6. Finish RinseAid lowers the surface tension of water, causing it to roll off dishes and dry without spots.

7.  Quantum Finish does not contain phosphates and has not since 2010.

8.  Unfortunately, the lack of phosphates means a greater build up of deposits in your dishwasher, again meaning poorer performance.  This is where Finish Dishwasher Cleaner comes in.  It flows through your machine, cleaning out all the bits and pieces you don’t normally see, and letting the water flow better and your machine to work at top performance.

9.  The foggy build up on your glassware is called etching.  To tell if it’s permanent, rub some white vinegar on it.  If the glass clears up and stays that way, it’s hard water build up and a better detergent should significantly improve your dishwasher results.  If the fogginess comes back, it is permanent and may be caused by poor detergent, hard water, or poor quality glass.  A rainbow effect is the result of lower quality sand being used in the glass making process.

10.  Want to see for yourself?  My friends over at Quantum Finish are giving away two boxes of Quantum Finish tabs to one lucky MBA Mama Musings reader.

To enter, simply tell me which of these facts you found most interesting/surprising and leave it in a comment here, along with your e-mail address.

For additional entries, do any or all of the following and leave me a separate comment for each, with your e-mail address.

Like Finish Canada on Facebook.

Like MBAMamaMusings on Facebook

Follow @MBAMamaMusings on Twitter and tweet the following Enter to #win 2 boxes Quantum Finish and join the #FinishRevolution from @MBAMamaMusings Can only  Be sure to leave me your tweet link when you do.

Contest closes May 25, 2012 at 11:59 pm ET.  I select a winner using random.org and they will have 24 hours to respond.  In the even they don’t respond, I will start the selection process over.

Disclosure: I am part of the Finish Blogger Program by Mom Central. I received compensation as part of my affiliation with this group.  The opinions on this blog are my own.

, , , , , ,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

44 Comments on “Not All Things Are Created Equal #FinishRevolution #Giveaway”

  1. Angela Hoffman Says:

    I liked number 5 about the bleach and the enzymes. It`s always interesting to find out how and why these things work.

  2. angela m Says:

    I found #4 about the powder detergent under the kitchen sink being the worst place for storage
    thanks
    flower_child_23(at)hotmail(dot)com

  3. angela m Says:

    Liked Finish Canada on Facebook.
    angela m
    flower_child_23(at)hotmail(dot)com

  4. angela m Says:

    Liked MBAMamaMusings on Facebook
    angela m
    flower_child_23(at)hotmail(dot)com

  5. angela m Says:

    I follow you on twitter (@flower_child_23) and tweeted

    flower_child_23(at)hotmail(dot)com

  6. SweetPanda Says:

    I found that it is interesting to know 80% of all technician repair calls to ‘fix’ a dishwasher are, get this, not really about the dishwasher.

  7. SweetPanda Says:

    Like Finish Canada on Facebook (Precilla N.)

  8. SweetPanda Says:

    Follow you on twitter (@PandaSweetSweet) and tweeted: https://twitter.com/#!/PandaSweetSweet/status/203303520248672256

  9. SweetPanda Says:

    Like MBAMamaMusings on Facebook (Precilla N.)

  10. Jennifer Barata Allen Says:

    I’m surprised that Quantum Finish does not contain phosphates and has not since 2010. I thought they still contained phosphates
    jmbarata21@hotmail.com

  11. Jennifer Barata Allen Says:

    I like Finish Canada on facebook
    jmbarata21@hotmail.com

  12. Jennifer Barata Allen Says:

    I am following you on twitter and tweeted https://twitter.com/#!/jennallen80/status/203543469757706241
    jmbarata21@hotmail.com

  13. Penny G Says:

    I like number 6. I hate finding spots on my dishes after they been washed in the diswasher

  14. Penny G Says:

    I liked Finish Quantum on facebook
    Starkey02 (at) gmail (dot) com

  15. Penny G Says:

    I liked MBAMamaMusings on facebook

    Starkey02 (at) gmail (dot) com

  16. Penny G Says:

    I am following you on twitter and left the following tweet
    Enter to #win 2 boxes Quantum Finish and join the #FinishRevolution from @MBAMamaMusings

    Starkey02 (at) gmail (dot) com

  17. Adri Says:

    I was surprised to learn that the soap shouldn’t be stored under the sink!

    Thanks for the Chance to win!
    Smartladym at gmail dot com

  18. Hal Jenner Says:

    I like the information about the bleach and enzymes. It was new to me

  19. Corry VanHooft Says:

    Quantum Finish does not contain phosphates and has not since 2010.

  20. Sherry Fraser Says:

    I too was surprised that Quantum doesn’t contain phosphates.

  21. JM Says:

    I will move my dish washer soap from under the sink

  22. Arash Naghdi Says:

    I found number 4 most interesting

  23. thomas rusinak Says:

    finish makes me want to wash dishes!

  24. Mary Jaglowitz Says:

    I was surprized about the info regarding powdered detergent

  25. Dana123 Says:

    You can tell it your glassware has permanent etching by rubbing vinegar on it.

  26. Florence c Says:

    Quantum Finish does not contain phosphates and has not since 2010.

  27. Florence c Says:

    LIKE MBAMAMAMUSINGS ON FACEBOOK

  28. Florence c Says:

    Like Quantum finish on Facebook

  29. Sunshine G Says:

    I didn’t know that the foggy buildup had a name!

  30. Sunshine G Says:

    I like Finish Canada on FB.

  31. caroneko Says:

    I think it’s great that this product does not contain phosphates.

  32. caroneko Says:

    I like Finish Canada on Facebook.

  33. caroneko Says:

    I like MBAMamaMusings on Facebook.

  34. Sherry F Says:

    Doesn’t everyone keep it under the sink? I find number 4 surprising

  35. Alina R. Says:

    Quantum Finish has both enzymes and bleach, separated by a nifty little wall, so they activate at the right time.

  36. Jules A. Says:

    I found point #1 fascinating! Does this mean what I think it means?

  37. Jules A. Says:

    I like Finish Canada on FB

  38. Jules A. Says:

    I like MBAMamaMusings on FB

  39. newlyb Says:

    The part about the build up on glass sparked my interest. I’m going to try the vinegar test tonight. Thanks!

  40. intensev5 Says:

    I learned that the reason rinse aid works is because it lowers the surface tension of water, causing it to roll off dishes and dry without spots

  41. Brandy Says:

    Under the kitchen sink is the second moistest place in the house, and the worst place to keep powdered detergent.

  42. Brandy Says:

    I like Finish on fb (Brandy I)

