Apple Cheddar Pie with #Bacon and Rosemary #recipe

October 4, 2012

Cooking

I find Top Chef Canada to be a culinarily (is that a word?) inspiring show.  Last season, one of the most delicious creations yet was presented.  Depending on where you grew up, cheddar cheese may be a natural accompaniment to your apple pie.  Why not put it IN the pie?  And while you are at it, add bacon.  I will give you a moment to contemplate the awesomeness of this flavour combination.

Now, let’s begin.

  • 1 box Tenderflake deep dish pie crust
  • 4 cups sliced baking apples (I used Honeycrisp because that’s what my parent’s friends have available)
  • 5 pieces of bacon, fried not quite to the crisp stage and finely chopped
  • 3/4 cup cheddar cheese, shredded, the sharper the better
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1 tsp rosemary, finely ground
  • 3-5 dashes hickory smoke

DSC03562

Peel, core and slice the apples into a large bowl or measuring cup.

DSC03563

Chop up your bacon into delicious bite size pieces.  I did not render all of the fat out of mine.  This year’s growing season has been particularly dry and the pie filling will need some fat and moisture.

DSC03565

Dump all the ingredients in a bowl and give it a good mix around.

DSC03566

Then pile the ingredients all nice and high into the bottom pie shell.

DSC03567

I bought this gizmo the other day.  It cuts pretty shapes into the top of pie crusts.  One side is maple leaves.

DSC03569

The other side is apples.  I used the cut outs to add depth and dimension to my pie.  Also, I am too cheap to just throw them out and too lazy to re-roll them into something else.

DSC03571

Look at all that yumminess, peaking out at you.  Give the top an egg wash.  This will add sheen and make sure the cut outs stay in place.

DSC03572

Bake just over an hour or until a knife stuck through one of the cut out holes yields fully cooked apples.

DSC03575

I haven’t quite figured out what would make a good accompaniment to this pie.  I am thinking creme fraiche might be it.  The right ice cream would probably work.

What do you think would be the best side to this pie?

 

Disclosure:  I was supplied with pie crust by Maple Leaf Foods to make this dish.  All opinions, however, are honest and my own.

, , , , , ,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Apple Cheddar Pie with #Bacon and Rosemary #recipe”

  1. trkingmomoe Says:

    I have that cust cutout also and I love it. Your pie looks nice. I never thought to add bacon to apple pie. I bet that is good.

  2. Candace Says:

    You had me at bacon 😉 Looks divine.

